May, 2024

IDL – Doha Meeting kicks off

DOHA– The 2014 opening round of the International Athletics Association Federation Diamond League (IDL) ” Qatar 2014″ which is hosted by Qatar’s Athletics Federation kicked off on Friday(May 9th)  with the participation of heavy caliber international and Olympic athletes. 

In the Shot Put discipline, New Zealand’s Valerie Adams, the Olympic Gold medalist and holder of IDL record (21,03 meter) won the gold medal after a 20,20 meter distance. 
Adams is the most dominant figure in women’s athletics and her supremacy in the shot put is undisputed. Apart from her two Olympic gold medals, she also has four outdoor and three indoor world titles, and will arrive in Doha with a winning streak of 46 finals. She hasn’t lost a competition since August 2010. 

Belarus’s Yuliya Leantsiuk won the Silver medal with a 18,78 meter distance and the US Tia Brooks won the Bronze medal with the 18,32 meter distance.

In the Men’s Long Jump competition, the Greek Louis Tsatoumas won the Gold medal after a surprising 8,06 meter jump that put him ahead of Mexico’s Rivera Alberto who won the Silver medal with an 8,04 meter jump and the Neatherland’s Ignisious Gaisah who won the Bronze with 8,01 meter. 

The IDL Long Jump record is 8,44 meter scored by the Australian Mitchel Watt. 
In the Discus Throw, The Polish Piotr Malachowski scored a 66,72 meter distance to win the Gold medal. India’s Vikas Gowda won the Silver medal with a 63,23 meter score and the Estonian Gerd Kanter won the Bronze with a score of 62,90 meter. 

Piotr Malachowski is the holder of the IDL record with a score of 69,83 meter. 
Bahrain’s Kemi Adekoya won the Gold medal of the 400 meter Hurdles-Women with a 54,59 second time, overrunning Jamaica’s Kaliese Spencer who won the silver with a time 55,07 second and Britain’s Eilidh Child who won the Bronze Medal with a 55,43 second time. 

In the men’s 1500 meter Kenya’s Asbel Kiprop won the Gold medal after breaking his own 3:29.63 minute Doha Meeting record with a 3:29.18 minutes time. The Silver medal went to Silas Kiplagat who finished the race in 3:29.70 minutes and the Bronze medal went to Djibouti’s Ayanleh Souleiman who scored a 3:30.16 minutes time.-QNA

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
Follow by Email

Discover more from Gulf Daily Mail

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading